Friday, June 24, 2016

Bouncy & #Bungee - Saturday Snapshots

Recently, my grandniece  (age 10) and granddaughter (age 5) spent a rainy day at Super Jump Party Zone. They had a ball! 

First they headed to the yellow bouncy house and bouncy slides in the photo above. The facility also has an even bigger bouncy house maze and a rock climbing wall, that I somehow didn't get a picture of, as well as a separate bouncy area for smaller children.

The highlight for both girls, however, was the bungee trampoline. They squealed with delight as they went zooming up toward the ceiling and then plummeted down again. 

Here's my 10-year-old grandniece.

And here's my 5-year-old granddaughter on her way up...

...and zooming back down.

I'll confess that my stomach did as many somersaults as my granddaughter's did, and I probably have a few new gray hairs, but the girls loved it.

Saturday Snapshots is hosted by West Metro Mommy Reads.
To enjoy a variety of beautiful pictures from around the world, 
click HERE or on the box below.  

West Metro Mommy Reads
To participate in Saturday Snapshots: post a photo that you (or a friend or family member) 
have taken then leave a direct link to your post in the Mister Linky on the host blogsite. 
Photos can be old or new, and be of any subject as long as they are clean and appropriate for all eyes to see. How much detail you give in the caption is entirely up to you. 

Thursday, June 23, 2016

The Little French Guesthouse - #BookBeginnings on Friday and The #Friday56

    I just finished reading The Little French Guesthouse, and now I'm tempted to buy a ticket to France. How I'd love to spend a month in the French countryside and stay in a cozy guesthouse like the one described in Helen Pollard's well-written romance. My passport is ready! 
    Not only is this a romance, it's also a story about taking chances. The plot takes an unusual turn as Emmy becomes more than a pampered guest and ends up helping run the resort. Will the challenges thrust upon her cause her to reexamine her life?
    I enjoyed getting to know Pollard's characters and being immersed in the day-to-day operations of running a country retreat. I'm looking forward to reading more stories by this talented author, including this book's sequel, Return to the Little French Guesthouse.  

Genre: Contemporary Romance
Book Length: 344 Pages
Amazon Link: The Little French Guesthouse
Author Website: Helen Pollard Writes

Book Beginning:
     I wish I could tell you it happened like it does in the movies. You know the kind of thing. The heroine standing proud, oozing restrained fury. The audience's satisfaction as she delivers a reverberating slap across her lover's face. Her dramatic but dignified exit from the screen.
     Believe me, there was nothing dignified about it. All I did was stand there shaking, rage and adrenaline coursing through my body like rabid greyhounds, my mouth flapping open and shut as I tried to find the words. Any words.

Friday 56 (from 56% on my Kindle):
They weren't just fond of each other, or used to each other, or putting up with each other, or taking each other for granted. After thirty-five years, they were still in love.

Synopsis from Goodreads:
     Sun, croissants and fine wine. Nothing can spoil the perfect holiday. Or can it? 
     When Emmy Jamieson arrives at La Cour des Roses, a beautiful guesthouse in the French countryside, she can’t wait to spend two weeks relaxing with boyfriend Nathan. Their relationship needs a little TLC and Emmy is certain this holiday will do the trick. But they’ve barely unpacked before he scarpers with Gloria, the guesthouse owner’s cougar wife. 
     Rupert, the ailing guesthouse owner, is shell-shocked. Feeling somewhat responsible, and rather generous after a bottle (or so) of wine, heartbroken Emmy offers to help. Changing sheets in the gîtes will help keep her mind off her misery. 
     Thrust into the heart of the local community, Emmy suddenly finds herself surrounded by new friends. And with sizzling hot gardener Ryan and the infuriating (if gorgeous) accountant Alain providing welcome distractions, Nathan is fast becoming a distant memory. 
     Fresh coffee and croissants for breakfast, feeding the hens in the warm evening light; Emmy starts to feel quite at home. But it would be madness to walk away from her friends, family, and everything she’s ever worked for, to take a chance on a place she fell for on holiday – wouldn’t it? 
     Fans of Jenny Colgan, Lucy Diamond and Nick Alexander will want to join Emmy for a glass of wine as the sun sets on the terrace at La Cour des Roses.


Anyone can participate in Book Beginnings on Friday and The Friday 56.
Click HERE to connect to other Book Beginnings posts (sponsored by Rose City Reads) 
Click HERE to join other Friday 56 bloggers (sponsored by Freda's Voice)

Twitter: @SandyNachlinger
Facebook: sandy.nachlinger

Monday, June 20, 2016

How To Be #Texan

I'm over at Smart Girls Read Romance today, blogging about 
You'll find excerpts from this funny book here:

Monday, June 6, 2016

La Vie en Rose (Life in Pink) - #TeaserTuesday and First Chapter / First Paragraph / Tuesday Intros

    La Vie en Rose is a book about friendship, love, sex, and courage. 
    The author does a great job of taking us deep inside her characters. The story opens in the middle of Riley's erotic dream and shows just how guys think. It's hilarious! Riley shares a home with his lesbian sister Rarity and her good friend Emma ("...the sweet quiet type that never got in the way....") who is ditched by her fiancé as she's planning their wedding. With this cast of characters, there are lots of opportunities for conflict and humor.
    As Riley is drawn into Emma's drama, their deepening relationship is portrayed beautifully. The sex scenes are explicit and delicious. When serious health problems arise, the strength of the friendship between Emma, Riley, and Rarity is demonstrated by their support for each other, and makes the story even more meaningful.
    La Vie en Rose is an enjoyable book with likable characters and a great plot. I recommend it.

Genre: Women's Fiction / Romance / New Adult
Book Length: 380 Pages
Amazon Link: La Vie en Rose
Author Website: Lydia Michaels

First Paragraph:
     Riley's lips twitched as soft ebony curls ghosted over his bare stomach, lower and lower, tickling his hips and teasing that tight strip of flesh just below his bellybutton. A deep, satisfied growl rumbled in his chest like distant thunder as anticipation teetered on impatience - but it was a good, burning sort of anticipation. Holy fuck, was it good. Stretching, he gave Curls the access she needed and -

Teaser (from 13% on my Kindle):
[Emma has asked Riley to fix her up with one of his friends. He's explaining why he doesn't want to.]
"They're my guy friends. Their credentials include an ability to provide beer, remark judiciously about superior tits and ass, have access to sports channels, and being available to do nothing at a moments notice."

Synopsis (from Goodreads):
    Emma Sanders has always dreamt of being a bride, wearing fancy gowns, pretty pearls, and—of course—falling madly in love. Then life happened. Finding herself one fiancé short of her happily ever after, she leaves the fairytales behind. Some days are simply too perilous for pink gowns and pearls.
    Riley Lockhart is the sort of man who can make a woman lower her gaze with only a smile. That he doesn’t realize his charm makes him all the more enchanting. Determined to save Emma the pain of her breakup, he steps in as a friend, but soon finds himself wanting more.
    She was just a girl, but she somehow winds up being the strongest woman he’s ever known. Losing her is not an option and when life can’t be tied neatly in a pretty little bow, he holds tight to all that he loves—his Emma. His hero.
    Sometimes the greatest scars are worn on the inside.

Teaser Tuesday is hosted by Jenn of Books and A Beat. Post two sentences from somewhere in a book you're reading. No spoilers, please!

First Chapter/First Paragraph/Tuesday Intros is hosted by Bibliophile By The Sea. To participate, share the first paragraph (or a few) from a book you're reading or thinking about reading soon.

Twitter: @SandyNachlinger

Facebook: sandy.nachlinger